Introduction

Home > Introduction > Mount Burgess Panorama

Introduction

Burgess Shale panorama from the Burgess pass.

Get Adobe Flash player

Panoramic view from base of Mount Burgess showing the Burgess Shale on Fossil Ridge (centre, in the background) between Wapta Mountain (middle left) and Mount Field (middle right).

© Royal Ontario Museum. Photo: Jean-Bernard Caron.

Burgess Shale

High on a mountain ridge in Canada’s spectacular Yoho National Park in British Columbia is one of Earth’s most important fossil deposits: the Burgess Shale. Preserved with exquisite detail within the rock layers for the last half-billion years are the remains of soft-bodied and often bizarre animals and algae dating from the Cambrian period. These exceptional fossils include some of the oldest members of many animal groups still alive today.

The Burgess Shale has a rich History of discoveries which span more than 125 years. In this website you will discover these extraordinary creatures through images of their remains in the Fossil Gallery and also through reconstructions including digital animations in the Virtual Sea Odyssey. You will learn about the Science, about how fossils are discovered and studied, and about the current research being done — as well as how to learn about, visit, share and help protect the sites today with Parks Canada.

Of global significance for understanding Cambrian life, the Burgess Shale was designated a World Heritage Site in 1980. Today it forms part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks World Heritage Site. World Heritage sites are features of exceptional cultural and natural significance, and are considered to be of outstanding universal value to humanity. As part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks World Heritage Site, the Burgess Shale joins locations as unique and diverse as the Taj Mahal in India, the Pyramids of Egypt, and Dinosaur Provincial Park in Canada.

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization | Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks, World Heritage Site since 1984

Introduction

Accueil > Introduction > Panorama du mont Burgess

Introduction

Vue panoramique du pied du mont Burgess montrant les schistes de Burgess sur la crête aux fossiles (au fond, au centre) entre le mont Wapta (au milieu à gauche) et le mont Field (au milieu à droite).

© Musée royal de l'Ontario. Photo : Jean-Bernard Caron.

Les schistes de Burgess

Dans les hauteurs d'une crête de montagne, au cœur du spectaculaire Parc national Yoho, en Colombie-Britannique, se trouve l'un des plus importants dépôts fossilifères de la Terre : les schistes de Burgess. Datant de la période cambrienne, les vestiges d'algues et d'animaux à corps mou souvent étranges sont conservés dans leurs moindres détails au sein de couches rocheuses depuis un demi-milliard d'années. Ces fossiles exceptionnels incluent quelques-uns des plus anciens membres de plusieurs groupes d'animaux encore vivants aujourd'hui.

L'histoire des schistes de Burgess abonde en découvertes s'étendant sur plus de 125 années. Ce site Web vous fera découvrir des créatures extraordinaires à l'aide de dessins et de photos de leurs vestiges (galerie des fossiles) et à l'aide de reconstructions comprenant des animations numériques (odyssée virtuelle de la mer). Vous en apprendrez davantage sur la science qui se cache derrière la découverte et l'étude des fossiles, de même que sur la recherche actuelle. Grace à la collaboration de Parcs Canada, vous trouverez également des renseignements sur la visite et la protection des sites aujourd'hui.

En reconnaissance de leur valeur universelle pour la compréhension de la vie cambrienne, les schistes de Burgess ont été inscrits à la Liste du patrimoine mondial en 1980. Ils sont maintenant intégrés au site du patrimoine mondial des Parcs des montagnes Rocheuses canadiennes. Ces sites présentent un héritage culturel et naturel d'une valeur exceptionnelle pour l'humanité. Les schistes de Burgess se joignent à des lieux aussi extraordinaires et divers que le Taj Mahal en Inde, les pyramides d'Egypte et le Dinosaur Provincial Park, au Canada.

La Organisation des Nations unies pour la éducation, la science et la culture